Boss’ Day Etiquette

Today is Boss’ Day!   If you think you’re having a hard day, try to being the boss.

fell down

It’s funny the way things do and don’t progress.  When I started my career, we were called secretaries; now we’re called “Administrative Professionals.”  Your boss though, is still called a “Boss”.  Trying to find a good picture for this post was even a challenge; look up “boss” on Google images and what will you find?   Pictures of villains.   How sad.

For those of you unfamiliar how this day evolved, I found a quick synopsis below on Wikipedia:

Patricia Bays Haroski registered “National Boss’ Day” with the U.S. Chamber of Commerce in 1958. She was working as a secretary for State Farm Insurance Company in Deerfield, Illinois, at the time and chose October 16, which was her father’s birthday. She was working for her father at the time. Four years later, in 1962, Illinois Governor Otto Kerner backed Haroski’s registration and officially proclaimed the day.

Hallmark Cards did not offer a Boss’ Day card for sale until 1979. It increased the size of its National Boss’ Day line by 28 percent in 2007.

I believe it was around 2006 when I first heard of Admin/Secretary’s Day.  I found a handwritten note on legal paper that said “Happy Admin Day” in my chair when I arrived at work in the morning.    My boss said that he heard it was Admin’s Day on the radio on the way in to work, and did not have time to get me anything.    Now this may seem like slapdash to you, but I really did appreciate it.

If you’re a worker bee, like most of us, you might be wondering what is the appropriate response to this day.  Are you supposed to buy your boss a gift, or a card, or just acknowledge your boss for the income and opportunities that he/she has provided to you?

I believe proper etiquette as to how you acknowledge Boss’ Day really depends upon your relationship.  Because we had a strong relationship, I took the handwritten note as it was offered – acknowledgement for my work and dedication.  Being a secretary/admin, however, I did make sure to put in my calendar the date for Boss’ Day going forward, so I could actually go get a card!   But that was my job – making sure that everything got done when it was supposed to and planning ahead.

Bottom line – you should take the time to at least verbally thank the person who provides you with income and career opportunities.  In this economic and political environment it takes a LOT of hard work to keep everything going in a business.

To all the business owners out there who struggle each and every day to keep it all together and push forward, HAPPY BOSS’ DAY!

Lora Zibman |   Southeastern Admin

P.S. – If you’re wondering about the grammar controversy of the word Boss’ v. Boss’s, you can learn more here.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

